Jorge Ben


12" Vinyl D

Survival Research / SVVRCH009 / 00136614

Front View : Jorge Ben - SOLTA O PAVAO (LP) - Survival Research / SVVRCH009 / 00136614
Back View : Jorge Ben - SOLTA O PAVAO (LP) - Survival Research / SVVRCH009 / 00136614
A1: Zagueiro
A2: Assim Falou Santo Tomaz De Aquino
A3: Velhos, Flores, Criancinhas E Cachorros
A4: Dorothy
A5: Cuidado Com O Bulldog
A6: Para Ouvir No Rádio (Luciana)
B1: O Rei Chegou, Viva O Rei
B2: Jorge De Capadócia
B3: Se Segura Malandro
B4: Dumingaz
B5: Luz Polarizada
B6: Jesualda

e-mail reminder

If this item in stock, then you will get an infomation E-Mail! Please login to reserve out-of-stock items.

The 1975 album from Brazilian musician Jorge Ben back on vinyl.

Jorge Ben is one of Brazilian music's iconic and best-loved figures. Born Jorge Duilio Lima Menezes in Rio in 1942, he took the stage name, Jorge Ben, in deference to his mother's Ethiopian roots, and later used Jorge Ben Jorge for further distinction. Playing tambourine and singing in a church choir from an early age, Ben began playing in Carnival blocos and was performing in nightclubs as a teen. Signed to Philips in 1963, his "Mas Que Nada" became an instant international sensation that has never waned, despite being sung entirely in Portuguese. Beginning in samba, Ben's open minded approach saw him embrace aspects of bossa nova, the "Jovem Guarda" rock movement of the mid-1960s and the experimental Tropicalia form, the broad palette and diverse influences yielding a number of adventurous and abstruse albums during the 1970s, of which Solta o Pavao is one of the most rated by connoisseurs, though somewhat overlooked in general; its title translates roughly to "Unleash the Peacock" and apparently concerns the outward expression of inner beauty. Against a backdrop of lushly produced samba rock with shades of MPB, highlights include opener "Zagueiro," in which Ben salutes football centre-backs in typically playful and poetic language; closing number "Jesualda" is a heady ballad of a chance encounter leading to a girl's social climbing and "Para Ouvir No Radio (Luciana)" a love song with striking flute and string arrangements; Dadi Flavi's bubbling bass and occasional string synths help keep the sound non-standard. [info sheet from distr.]
out of stock
20.99 EUR *

Customers who bought this item also bought :

more releases on label

  • PLAY
* All prices are including 19% VAT excl. shipping costs.