William Onyeabor - VINYL BOXSET

William Onyeabor
5x12" Vinyl lp + 7 inc D
Luaka Bop / LB8002LP

Image of the Record Front Side
Image of the Record Back Side

e-mail reminder

If this item in stock, then you will get an infomation E-Mail!
Sure to be a stocking stuffer and must have for any collector. Luaka Bop present Three! massive Box sets collecting the entirety of William Onyeabors elusive musical career. CONTENTS: • 5031 Crashes In Love (Original Version) (1977) • 5033 Atomic Bomb (1978) • 5034 Tomorrow (1979) • 5036 Great Lover (1981) • 5038 Anything You Sow (1985) • 7 inch of William Onyeabors *Atomic Bomb*. edit by Zach Cowie & Sunny Levine / *Love Me Now* by Axel Boman. Petter Nordkvist & Johan Jonason • 16 page 5x7 inch Booklet by Chris Abani • 8 page 12x12 inch Booklet • vintage Wilfilms ad

William Onyeabor is a box set of five of the albums elusive Nigerian synth-funk pioneer William Onyeabor self-released between 1977 and 1985 — remastered and officially available for the first time. His music represents the epitome of the golden era of Nigerian funk, before he gave up a life in music to become a devout Christian. Luaka Bop released the critically acclaimed compilation Who is William Onyeabor’s in October of 2013, and has since seen the release of the documentary Fantastic Man, which was fabricated around the myth of the musician, attempts to unearth the man behind the music, which is also now a full blown live show touring the world, paying tribute to the music of William Onyeabor featuring a supergroup of Damon Albarn, David Byrne, Kele Okereke from Bloc Party, Alexis Taylor from Hot Chip, the Lijadu Sisters, Money Mark, Pat Mahoney and Sinkane. To this day, William Onyeabor has not spoken about his music in one single interview.
(added: 2014-11-10 14:17:34 )
out of stock
69.99 EUR *
Chart Position
pos. 99
peak pos. 7

Customers who bought this item also bought :

more releases on label

more releases by artist