Search term
What you want to search
Where you want to search
5 search results
Ohne Filter erneut suchen: umeko ando
12" Vinyl+mp3 D Pre sale
12 inch + mp3 , joe claussell remix
25.99 EUR *
7" Vinyl D Pre sale
dies ist eine poetische hingabe an die oberfläche des ozeans. umeko ando singt besonders hypnotisierend fängt alle spröden und bezaubernden qualitäten ihrer gesangskunst perfekt ein.
Pingipung 63
9.49 EUR *
12" Vinyl D 14.12.18
remixes zum album auf pingipung 60
Pingipung 62
in stock
11.49 EUR *
2x12" Vinyl D 31.08.18
...comes with an inlay
umeko ando (1932-2004) was a folk singer from japan. she was a representative of the ainu culture on the hokkaido island in the north of japan. “ihunke” is her first album which was recorded with the ainu musician and dub producer oki kano in 2000. it was released on cd in japan only and is finally available on vinyl (2lp + linernotes, dl included). “ihunke” is following last year’s single “iuta upopo” pingipung 58, incl. m.rux remix which had been received with overwhelming enthusiasm and was quickly sold out. the 16 ainu songs on “ihunke” are delicate, natural gems. they are built on oki kano’s tonkori patterns (a 5-string harp), over which umeko ando develops her repetitive, mantric vocals, often in a call-response manner. oki kano is one of very few professional tonkori players who performs worldwide with his oki dub ainu band. the songs possess a mystical energy – when crows call accurately with ando’s brittle voice in the first song, it seems like natural powers join in with her music. her voice sounds like animals of the sky and the forest. oki kano: “it was a lot of fun to record with umeko ando. many ainu hesitate to break from tradition - if umeko hadn’t been so flexible to work with the younger generation and recording technology, this album would never have happened. our sessions were intense, and we were proud and happy about making such beautiful music.” upcoming in autumn: remixes of “ihunke” by tolouse lowtrax, m.rux, dj ground, el buho mark peters, gama, andi otto, and dreems. historical background: only recently (in 2008) have the ainu officially been acknowledged as indigenous people who are culturally independent from japan. this record is an example of how their music has been passed on through generations in the underground ainu communities while it was oppressed by the japanese hegemony. it deserves a huge audience. follow kompakt
Pingipung 60
out of stock
19.99 EUR *
7" Vinyl D 27.10.17
umeko ando (1932-2004) was a folk singer from japan. she is a representative of the ainu culture on the hokkaido island in the north of japan. iuta upopo was released on her last cd upopo sanke in 2003, produced by oki kano (oki dub ainu band). upopo is the name of a particular singing style which involves repetition, while iuta simply means song. umeko ando performs this minimalistic vocal in a brittle, emotional manner which is framed by a slow, percussive pulse and oki’s tonkori patterns (the tonkori is a string instrument of the ainu). when pingipung’s andi otto toured japan in 2017, he came across this enchanting, folkloristic and danceable song in a dj set of a friend. he made contact with oki kano who agreed to license the track from his own label chikar studio. it is pressed on vinyl for the first time. this single is part of pingipung’s ongoing concentrical series of 7inches. we are very pleased to have a m.rux remix on the b side. he is not only a brilliant original producer, as his ep in the hold (ynfnd 2016) has proved, his claim to fame is a sublime collection of edits & cuts (for free on his bandcamp) which skillfully takes classics by nina simone, townes van zandt and others to the slowhouse dancefloor. his remix adds a gliding subbass, a kickdrum and occasional claps to the enhanced percussive structures of the original. umeko ando’s vocals adapt seamlessly to m.rux’s powerful electronic production
Pingipung 58
out of stock
8.59 EUR *

Current searches:
1. aspekt
2. buen ayre
3. welcome 2019
4. silat beksi
5. delaphine
6. perlon
7. libertine
8. binh
9. botanic minds
10. jeff mills
11. dana ruh
12. 15.01.2019
13. lazare hoche
14. drumcode
15. moralez
16. stop it
17. hostom+002
18. subwax fx 006
19. matthew oh
20. cragie knowes
21. rampa+&
22. kasper marott
23. dj+jus-ed+&+mr+g
24. abba r06;lay all your love
25. josh+brent

Most rated search words:
1. welcome 2019
2. aspekt
3. soundstream
4. efdemin
5. cocoon
6. ricardo villalobos
7. de:tuned
8. skee mask
9. perlon
10. villalobos
11. convextion
12. lizz
13. barac
14. giegling
15. traumer
16. f.t.w. recordingz
17. jeff mills
18. moby
19. sound stream
20. len faki
21. arts
22. suciu
23. arapu
24. moodymann
25. afterlife

you can enter: artist title label in this search field at the same time e.g.: Kalkbrenner Berlin Bpitch
inverted commas for exact word order,
e.g.: "in between"

* All prices are including 19% VAT excl. shipping costs.