3x12" Vinyl UK

17 North Parade / vp42131

Front View : Culture - TWO SEVENS CLASH (3X12 INCH LP) - 17 North Parade / vp42131
Back View : Culture - TWO SEVENS CLASH (3X12 INCH LP) - 17 North Parade / vp42131

e-mail reminder

If this item in stock, then you will get an infomation E-Mail! Please login to reserve out-of-stock items.

The 40th anniversary edition of the roots reggae classic -Two Sevens Clash- album celebrating the period of 1977 to 2017 is available as a great 2CD-package and also as 3LP-Vinyl set with additional 12Inch-single disco mixes, deejay cuts, dub versions all state-of-the-art remastered by Pete Norman at Finyl Tweek. Two Sevens Clash from Culture was the must-have reggae accessory for any self-respecting music fan back in that long hot summer of 1977. Loaded up with hit anthems like See Them A Come, I Am Not Ashamed, Natty Dread Taking Over and the prophetic title track, Two Sevens Clash remains the defining album statement of the year that reggae crossed over get ready to ride this lion to Zion!

Sales Information:

Full Tracklist:

A1. Calling Rasta For I
A2. I'm Alone In The Wilderness
A3. Pirate Days
A4. Two Sevens Clash
A5. I'm Not Ashamed
B1. Get Ready To Ride The Lion To Zion
B2. Black Starliner Must Come
B3. Jah Pretty Face
B4. See Them A Come
B5. Natty Dread Taking Over
C1. Two Sevens Clash / Prophecy Reveal (12 Mix) - Culture & Mr Bojangles
C2. Fulfillment - The Mighty Two
D1. Im Not Ashamed / Under Tight Wraps (12inch Mix) - Culture & I-Roy
D2. I'm Not Ashamed Version - The Mighty Two
E1. See Them A Come / Mask Mi Mask (12inch Mix) - Culture & Prince Weedy
E2. Informer - Culture
E3. Informer Version - The Mighty Two
E4. State Of Emergency - Joe Gibbs & The Professionals
E5. Natty Pass His GCE - Shorty The President
F1. Natty Dread Taking Over / Invasion (12inch Mix) - Culture & I Roy
F2. Natty Gone Clear - Joe Gibbs & The Professionals

C r e d i t s
Bass: Lloyd Parks
Drums: Sly Dunbar
Guitar: Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont, Lennox Gordon, Robbie Shakespeare
Keyboards: Franklyn "Bubbler" Waul, Harold Butler, Errol Nelson
Percussion: Uziah "Sticky" Thompson
Tenor Saxophone: Tommy McCook
Alto Saxophone: Herman Marquis
Trombone: Vin Gordon
Trumpet: Bobby Ellis
Lead Vocals: Joseph Hill
Harmony Vocals: Albert Walker, Kenneth Dayes
Produced, arranged and mixed by Errol Thompson and Joe Gibbs
Recorded at Joe Gibbs Recording Studio, Kingston Jamaica.

Q u o t e s

"One of the 50 coolest records ever made" (Rolling Stone)

"Their message? The Unforgotten suffering of their Ancestors as they toiled, in blood sweat and tears only to perish. Their jubilation ? The Realisation that for this inhuman act, someday, Babylon will pay" (Joe Gibbs)

"There has been no other artist in history of reggae that has written so much upliftings songs using only major chord progressions..." (David Hinds / Steel Pulse)

"Culture has made his mark. It was a good mark, a firm mark. When people say reggae music, they will always think of Culture. Culture's musical philosophy will live on" (Winston Rodney / Burning Spear)

"From the time we walked into studio it was a special session...whenever Joseph (Hill) came into Gibbo's studio it was special. When we play with him it was just like magic" (Sly Dunbar)

"The omniously foreshadowed title track, and its surrounding brethren, carry their redemptive air lightly, the skip of skittering rhythms and humorous asides from the organ framing Culture's triparite harmony, Hill rough-edged, the backgrounds flirting with the falsetto" (Lenny Kaye)

"This album ranks as one of the greatest reggae albums ever recorded. It still sounds as fresh today as it did when I first heard it" (Mick Hucknall / Simply Red)

The rumour for the Culture song "Two Sevens Clash" and The Clash:
"It was Paul Simenon who suggested calling the band the Clash. The name derives from a reggae track released in Jamaica in 1976 by Culture called "Two Sevens Clash" (quote from the book by Jon Stratton "Jewish Identity In Western Pop Culture" / chapter "Bernie Rhodes and Displaced Apocalypse")
[txt from ]
out of stock
26.99 EUR *
Chart Position
pos. 76
peak pos. 52

Customers who bought this item also bought :

more releases on label

more releases by artist

* All prices are including 19% VAT excl. shipping costs.